# IAS Chapter Awards and Contests 2013

# 2013 Outstanding IAS Chapter Awards for the 2012 activity

### IAS Outstanding Large Joint Chapter:

- Eastern North Carolina Section Joint PES/IAS Chapter (Chair: Roger G Lawrence)
- Southern Alberta Section Joint PES/IAS Chapter (Chair: Dale Tardiff)

## **IAS Outstanding Large Chapter:**

- Singapore Section Joint IAS/PELS Chapter (Chair: Sanjib K Panda)

## **IAS Continued Outstanding Performance Large Chapter:**

- Delhi Section Joint PES/IAS Chapter (Chair: Mini S Thomas (2012), Sukumar Mishra (2013))
- Germany Section Joint IAS/PELS/IES Chapter (Chair: Axel Mertens (2012), Omid Forati Kashani (2013))
- New York Section Joint PES/IAS Chapter (Chair: Arnold D. Wong (2012), Paul Sartori (2013))

### **IAS Continued Outstanding Performance Small Chapter:**

- Panama Section IAS Chapter (Chair: Jose E Correa (2012), Jose Eduardo Diaz (2013))

## **IAS Outstanding Student Branch Chapter**

- Rajiv Gandhi Institute of Technology Government Engineering College, Kottayam, Kerala, India, SB IAS Chapter (Chair: Lina Sera Varghese (2012), Williams K. Francis (2013))
- San Buenaventura University, Bogotá, Colombia, SB IAS Chapter (Chair: Luis Miguel Quevedo Martinez)
- Universidad Distrital Francisco Jose de Caldas, Bogota, Colombia, SB IAS Chapter (Chair: Ana Catherine Lozano Flamang)

### **IAS Outstanding Student Branch Joint Chapter:**

- Texas A&M University, College Station, TX, USA, SB PES/IAS/PELS Chapter (Chair: Qin Yan)
- University of Nebraska-Lincoln, Lincoln, NE, USA, SB PES/IAS/PELS Chapter (Chair: Dingguo Lu)

#### **IAS Outstanding New Student Branch Chapter:**

- Amrita Vishwa Vidyapeetham University, Amritapuri, Kerala, India, SB IAS Chapter (Chair: Muralikrishnan K)
- An-Najah National University, Nablus, Palestinian Territory, SB IAS Chapter (Chair: Hussam Malhis (2012), Nooraldin Muala (2013))
- Democritus University of Thrace, Xanthi, Greece, SB IAS Chapter (Chair: Christina-Panagiota Malliou)
- Dhirubhai Ambani Institute of Information and Communication Technology, Gandhinagar, Gujarat, India, SB IAS Chapter (Chair: Megha Tak (2012), Saksham Gupta (2013))

## **IAS Continued Outstanding Performance Student Branch Chapter:**

- Budapest University of Technology and Economics, Budapest, Hungary, SB PES/IAS Chapter (Chair: Beáta Polgári)

# 2013 IAS Chapter Web Contest

# 1<sup>st</sup> Prize

- Amrita Vishwa Vidyapeetham University, Amritapuri, Kerala, India, SB IAS Chapter (<a href="http://ias.amrita.ac.in/">http://ias.amrita.ac.in/</a>, Chair: Muralikrishnan K, Webmaster: K.M. Balaji)
- Colombia Section IAS Chapter (<a href="http://sites.ieee.org/colombia-ias/">http://sites.ieee.org/colombia-ias/</a>, Chair: Jenifer Castillo, Webmaster: Byron Perez-Gutierrez)
- Democritus University of Thrace, Xanthi, Greece, SB IAS Chapter (<a href="http://iasxanthi.eng.duth.gr">http://iasxanthi.eng.duth.gr</a>, Chair: Christina-Panagiota Malliou, Webmaster: Christos Pnevmatikos))
- Dhirubhai Ambani Institute of Information and Communication Technology, Gandhinagar, Gujarat, India, SB IAS Chapter (<a href="https://ias.daiict.ac.in">https://ias.daiict.ac.in</a>, Chair: Saksham Gupta, Webmaster: Zeel Shah)
- Eastern North Carolina Section Joint PES/IAS Chapter (<a href="http://sites.ieee.org/encs/pes-ias/">http://sites.ieee.org/encs/pes-ias/</a>, Chair: Roger G Lawrence, Webmaster: Zhi Gao)
- Thadomal Shahani Engineering College, Mumbai, India, SB IAS Chapter (<a href="http://www.ieee-tsec.org/ias/">http://www.ieee-tsec.org/ias/</a>, Chair: Karan Mahajan, Webmaster: Marmik Pandya)
- University of Nebraska-Lincoln, Lincoln, NE, USA, SB PES/IAS/PELS Chapter (<a href="http://sites.ieee.org/sb-unl-pespelsias">http://sites.ieee.org/sb-unl-pespelsias</a>, Chair: Dingguo Lu, Webmaster: Daihyun Ha))

#### 2<sup>nd</sup> Prize

- An-Najah National University, Nablus, Palestinian Territory, SB IAS Chapter (http://www.najah.edu/ar/node/27758, Chair: Nooraldin Muala, Webmaster: Allam Mousa)
- Budapest University of Technology and Economics, Budapest, Hungary, SB PES/IAS Chapter (<a href="http://www.eszk.org/index.php?change\_lang=en">http://www.eszk.org/index.php?change\_lang=en</a>, Chair: Beata Polgari, Webmaster: Boglárka Erdös)
- Delhi Section Joint PES/IAS Chapter (<a href="http://www.ewh.ieee.org/r10/delhi/pe-ia.html">http://www.ewh.ieee.org/r10/delhi/pe-ia.html</a>, Chair: Sukumar Mishra, Webmaster: Subrata Mukhopadhyay)
- Rajiv Gandhi Institute of Technology Government Engineering College, Kottayam, Kerala, India, SB IAS Chapter (<a href="http://www.rit.ac.in/IEEEIAS/RITWebsite/index.html">http://www.rit.ac.in/IEEEIAS/RITWebsite/index.html</a>, Chair: Williams K. Francis, Webmaster: Jibi Abraham)

## 2013 IAS CMD Graduate Student Thesis Contest

# 1st Prize Recipient:

**Taesic Kim**, M.S.: A Hybrid Battery Model Capable of Capturing Dynamic Circuit Characteristics and Nonlinear Capacity Effects (2012), Dept. of Electrical. Engineering, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, Lincoln, NE USA.

Thesis advisor: Wei Qiao, Harold and Esther Edgerton Associate Professor, Dept. of Electrical Engineering, University of Nebraska-Lincoln.

# 2<sup>nd</sup> Prize Recipients:

**Beáta Polgári**. M.Sc.: Application of Smart Meters Especially for the Detection of Illegal Electricity Usage (2012), Budapest University of Technology and Economics (BUTE), Budapest, Hungary.

Thesis advisor: Dr. Dávid Raisz, Ass. Professor, Department of Electrical Power Engineering, BUTE.

**Mohammad B Shadmand**, M.S.: A Design-Oriented Framework to Determine the Parasitic Parameters of High-Frequency Magnetics in Switching Power Supplies using Finite-Element Analysis Techniques (2012), Dept. of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Texas A&M University, College Station, TX USA.

Thesis advisor: Robert S Balog, Professor, Dept. Electrical and Computer Engineering, Texas A&M University.

#### **3rd Prize Recipients:**

**Sanila C.M.**, M.Tech.: Direct Torque Control of Induction Motor with Constant Switching Frequency (2012), Rajiv Gandhi Institute of Technology, Govt. Engineering College, Kottayam, Kerala, India.

Thesis advisor: Dr. Vincent George, Asst. Professor, EEE Department., Rajiv Gandhi Institute of Technology, Govt. Engineering College, Kottayam.

**Nikhil Valsan K**, M.Tech.: Reduction of Harmonics in Induction Motor Drive Using Novel Topology (2012). Rajiv Gandhi Institute of Technology, Govt. Engineering College (RIT), Kottayam, Kerala, India

Thesis advisor: Dr. Joseph K. D., Asst. Professor, EEE Department., Rajiv Gandhi Institute of Technology, Govt. Engineering College, Kottayam.

**Evelin Kiss**, M.Sc.: K, M.Tech.: *Procurement of P-f Control Reserves in the Hungarian Electricity System* (2011). Budapest University of Technology and Economics (BUTE), Budapest, Hungary.

Thesis advisors: Dr. László Szabó, Ass. Professor, Department of Electrical Power Engineering, BUTE, and Gábor Alföldi, MAVIR ZRt, Budapest.