Welcome to the Daytona Section of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE).

We cover the Northeast Central Region of Florida,.  This includes the counties of Volusia and Flagler, and stretches North from Marineland to the East at DeBary and as far South as Oak Hill.

Launching of the IEEE Daytona WIE Affinity Group

The IEEE Daytona WIE Affinity group has been formed.  At the most recent EXCOM Meeting on 4/20/2022, Rebecca DeMarco was voted in as President, and Dr. Helen Hernandez as Vice President.  We welcome anyone to join. There will be a membership assembly in May to elect Secretary and Treasurer.  Stay tuned for more information.

Messages from the Chair

Notable Member Efforts

Charles Husband’s volunteer service as webmaster for 14 years, and Allan Jusko’s diligent efforts as newsletter editor provide a a good basis to examine past events, contributions and endeavours.  The Small Radio Telescope (SRT) Program is on the list of endeavours, deployed at Burns Sci-Tech Charter School, and currently being acttively pursued by Rebecca DeMarco and Kira McFadden.  This new development reflects our recent push for student engagement.

2022 Tomoka Science and Engineering Fair Winners

The Daytona Section gives a Special Award in both divisions to the project which incorporates the best application of computer science or engineering principles. Winners will be invited to attend our April Section meeting as our guests.

Senior Award:  Olivia Bisesi, Spruce Creek High School for her project titled “How Efficient is an Autonomous Robot at Differentiating Objects Within Various Environments?”

Junior Division Award:  Troy Gingrich, The Burns Science and Technology Charter School, for his project “What is the Strongest Shape in Bridge Design?”


See All Events

The Daytona Section Discord Server is now online, thanks to the effort by Rebecca DeMarco.  Follow the invite by Rebecca (active through 4/13/2022):  https://discord.gg/jjgTG8UF
To install Discord Server on your PC or smartphone, visit https://discord.gg or go to PlayStore/AppleStore.

On 1/12/2022, the Daytona Section EXCOM approved a motion to provide $1500 grant to the Engineering Department at Bethune-Cookman University (B-CU). The grant will be used by the B-CU Robotics Club (Club President is Manit Bhusal), under the direction of Dr. Xiaohe Wu, Associate Professor, Computer Science & Engineering. The B-CU Robotics Club took the 10th place at the annual IEE Robotics Competition in 2019.

Congratulations to Dr. Shawn Wilkerson, our Section Chair, for receiving his Ph.D. from Nova Southeastern University, College of Computing and Engineering, Fort Lauderdale, FL.  Dr. Wilkerson has a Ph.D. in Information Systems with Concentration in Information Security.