Richmond logo

The IEEE is incorporated under the Not-for-Profit Corporation Law of the state of New York. It was formed in 1963 by the merger of the Institute of Radio Engineers (IRE, founded 1912) and the American Institute of Electrical Engineers (AIEE, founded 1884).

IEEE is the world’s largest professional association dedicated to advancing technological innovation and excellence for the benefit of humanity. IEEE and its members inspire a global community through its highly cited publications, conferences, technology standards, and professional and educational activities.

IEEE has a dual complementary regional and technical structure with organizational units based on geography and technical focus. It manages a separate organizational unit (IEEE-USA) which recommends policies and implements programs specifically intended to benefit the members, the profession, and the public in the United States.

One of the over 330 IEEE sections worldwide, the Richmond Section was formed on 06-June-1963 and exists for the mutual benefit of its members and the greater public in a geographical area consisting of 26 counties and six independent cities of the Commonwealth of Virginia in the United States.

IEEE Membership is open to those who by education or experience give evidence of competence in an IEEE designated field.  The IEEE designated fields are: Engineering, Computer Sciences and Information Technology, Physical Sciences, Biological and Medical Sciences, Mathematics, Technical Communications, Education, Management, Law and Policy.

See:  Qualifications for Membership

See Organizing Document


© 2019 IEEE Richmond Section – All Rights Reserved | Revised 10-December (sk)