A Section is the basic operating organizational unit of IEEE

The IEEE Richmond Section covers a geographical area consisting of 26 counties in Virginia:  Amelia, Brunswick, Caroline, Charles City County, Charlotte, Chesterfield, Cumberland, Dinwiddie, Goochland, Greensville, Halifax, Hanover, Henrico, King George, King William, Lunenburg, Mecklenburg, New Kent, Nottoway, Powhatan, Prince Edward, Prince George, Spotsylvania, Stafford, Sussex and Westmoreland.

In addition, the Richmond Section also covers the 6 incorporated cities of Colonial Heights, Emporia, Fredericksburg, Hopewell, Petersburg and Richmond.

And, the Richmond Section geographical area covers all or part of 19 incorporated towns (defined by the counties in which they are located):  Ashland (Hanover), Blackstone, Burkeville and Crewe (Nottoway), Bowling Green and Port Royal (Caroline), Charlotte Court House (Charlotte), Colonial Beach (Westmoreland), Dillwyn (Buckingham), Farmville (Prince Edward & Cumberland), Glen Allen (Henrico), Jarratt (Greensville & Sussex), McKenney (Dinwiddie), Pamplin City (Appomattox & Prince Edward), South Boston (Halifax, gave up its city charter in 1994), Stony Creek, Wakefield and Waverly (Sussex) and West Point (King William).

Revised 28-May-2018 (c) IEEE Richmond Section